PEF at the CEA 2008 (updated)

We now have the official schedule for the CEA meetings. Please note that in addition to the sessions below, the PEF annual general meeting is on Saturday June 7 at noon. All paid-up members are welcome to attend.

Also, the John Kenneth Galbraith Prize will be awarded on Sunday June 8, 10:30 am. The 2008 co-winners, Mel Watkins and Kari Levitt, will both be delivering lectures. James Galbraith may also make a cameo appearance.

We would like the thank the Canadian Economics Association for financial support towards our sessions.

The rest of the sessions follow, though PEF members are on other non-PEF panels, too. The full program is available at:

PEF sessions (all sessions except AGM are in Buchanan D218):

Fri 10:30 – 12:00
PEF – Foreign Ownership, Hollowing Out and the Resource Curse

Chair     Mel Watkins (Carleton University)


Mel Watkins (Carleton University)
Duncan Cameron (Simon Fraser University)
Jim Stanford (Canadian Auto Workers)
Diana Gibson (University of Alberta)

Fri 14:00 – 15:30
PEF – Carbon Trading

Chair     Marc Lee (Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives)


Distributional Aspects of Carbon Pricing
Marc Lee (Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives)

Trends in CO2 Content of Consumption and the Role of Income Inequality
Lars Osberg (Dalhousie University)

Revenue Recycling and Tax Shifting in Canadian Climate Policy

David Sawyer (EnviroEconomics)and Nic Rivers (Simon Farser University)

Discussant: Marjorie Griffin Cohen (Simon Fraser University)

Fri 16:00 – 17:30
PEF – Heterodox Approaches to Social Policy

Organizer     Nick Falvo (Street Health/York University)
Chair     Marc Lee (CCPA)


Policies to Address Homelessness
Nick Falvo (Street Health/York University)

Salimah Valiani (Canadian Labour Congress)

The Gender Wage Gap
Andrew Jackson (Canadian Labour Congress)

Discussant: David Pringle

Sat 10:30 – 12:00
PEF – Teaching Varieties of Economics

Chair     Rod Hill (University of New Brunswick)


Fletcher Baragar (University of Manitoba)

Joan McFarland (St. Thomas University)

The Problem of Ideology [abstract]
Ian Hudson (University of Manitoba)

Defying the Dominant Discourse: Critical Pedagogy and Heterodox Economics
Brenda Spotton Visano (York University)

Sat 12:00 – 13:30
PEF AGM (Brock 2367)

Sat 16:00 – 17:30
PEF – Public Policy and Economic Security of Vulnerable Populations in British Columbia

Chair     Seth Klein (Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives)


Public Policy and Economic Security of Vulnerable Populations in British Columbia
Seth Klein (Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives)

Community Health Care Restructuring
Zena Sharman (University of British Columbia)

Community Health Care Restructuring
Iglika Ivanova (Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives)

Sun 10:30 – 12:00
PEF: Biennial John Kenneth Galbraith Prize/Lecture (Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, Victoria Lecture Theatre, 182)

Co-winners: Kari Polanyi Levitt (McGill University), Mel Watkins (U. of Toronto)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *